“My son is mentally ill, so listen up”

“My son is mentally ill, so listen up”

This is an incredible piece from CNN.com’s Wayne Drash.

This article really got to me. Having struggled with my own personal mental health issues, I can tell you that without my mother and father I may not be here today, and I don’t just mean in grad school, I mean in general. Parental support, understanding, and unfailing love is the key to success in life, but they are especially critical in dealing with mental illness.

I commend this mother, son, and family for standing up, putting themselves on display, and continuing to fight the stigma that accompanies mental illness.

Leave a Reply

